This site only

County's Homepage

County Board's Homepage

County Board Chairman

Standing Committees

Ad-Hoc Committees



Meetings/Agendas/Minutes Video / Audio

Legislative Agenda pdf

Ordinances & Policies


County Board Meeting Materials

Past & Present Chairpersons



County Board also serving as
Commissioners of the DeKalb County Forest Preserve District

Mark Pietrowski, Jr. - County Board Chairman

Legislative Center - Sycamore Campus

200 North Main Street, Sycamore, IL 60178


Hours: 8:30 am. - 4:30 pm



DeKalb County operates under the township form of County Government. The governing body is the County Board. As the legislative element, the County Board is responsible for adopting all Ordinances for the governance of DeKalb County, which laws are contained in the DeKalb County Code; establishing budget for several funds as well as levying taxes, promulgating policies, rules and regulations for the management of County operations. The County is divided into twelve (12) Districts based on population. Members are elected for 4 year terms. One member is elected in each District every 2 years.

However, all twenty four (24) members are elected at the November General Election in the second year following a decennial census. The County Board meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Legislative Center.  Beginning with the August 16, 2017 the County Board will meet on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 pm in the Legislative Center.  Other meetings may be held when called by the Chairman or requested by at least one-third (1/3) of the members. The County Board has eight (8) standing committees, which meet regularly once each month. Each member serves on two (2) committees. Committee appointments are made by the Chairman, with the concurrence of the County Board. Members serve concurrently as Commissioners of the DeKalb County Forest Preserve District. The Commissioners' meeting is held immediately following the County Board meeting on the 3rd Wednesday of each month. Officers include a President and a Vice-President, elected in the same manner as officers of the County Board. Traditionally, these officers are the same persons as the officers of the County Board. The President appoints seven (7) Commissioners to serve as a standing committee. This committee meets regularly
each month.