This site only

County's Homepage

Meetings/Agendas/Minutes Video / Audio

Standing Committees

Ad-Hoc Committees

Contacts / Directions

Ordinances / Resolutions & Proclamations








Executive Committee Minutes
March 13, 2013
7 p.m.



The Executive Committee of the DeKalb County Board met on Wednesday, March 13, 2013 at 7:00p.m. at the Administration Building's Conference Room East. Chairman Jeffery Metzger called the meeting to order. Members present were Sally DeFauw, Julia Fauci, Julia Fullerton, John Gudmunson, Stephen Reid, Paul Stoddard and Anita Turner. The seat for the Economic Development Committee is vacant due to Mr. Andersen's resignation.


Others present were Mr. Gary Hanson, Ms. Ruth Anne Tobias, Mr. Mark Pietrowski, Mr. Jeff Whelan, Mr. Bob Brown, Mr. Anthony Cvek, Mr. John Frieders, Ms. Donna Brown, Mr. Tracy Jones, Mr. Derek Tyson, Ms. Misty Haji-Sheikh, Mr. Frank O'Barski, Mr. Riley Oncken, and Ms. Marla Metzger.


It was moved by Ms. Turner, seconded by Ms. Fauci, and it was carried unanimously to invite Mr. Bob Brown to sit at the table to represent the Economic Development Committee as he is the Vice Chair for that committee.

It was moved Mr. Reid, seconded by Ms. DeFauw, and it was carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the February 13, 2013 meeting.

It was moved by Ms. Fullerton, seconded by Mr. Gudmunson, and it was carried unanimously to approve the agenda.


The Chairman asked the Mr. Stoddard, Board Vice-Chair, to report on both the Communications Group that met earlier in the evening and a request for assembling an Ad Hoc Rules Committee.


Mr. Stoddard reported that the Communications Group is first working on writing articles for the print media and will focus on basic informational items such as background information on current Board issues. Other suggestions by Board members included biography profiles on County Board members, tips on navigating the County's web site, or highlighting a County department.


Mr. Stoddard also brought up the idea of appointing an Ad-Hoc Rules Committee. One of the items that the Committee would be charged with considering is to once again look at authorizing Board members to attend meetings remotely. There was a general consensus among the Executive Committee members to move forward with the Ad Hoc Committee.


The Chairman recommended a series of routine appointments which are shown on the attached County Board agenda. It was moved by Mr. Stoddard, seconded by Ms. DeFauw and passed unanimously to forward the appointments to the County Board.


The Chairman then recommended, as submitted by the Republican Party caucus, the name of Riley Oncken to fill the County Board seat vacated by Ken Andersen. It was moved by Ms. Fauci, seconded by Ms. Turner, and passed unanimously to forward the name of Riley Oncken to the County Board.


The Committee members took turns describing the items that their Committees had forwarded for action by the County Board. Members also discussed upcoming items that would be considered at future meetings by their Committees. The proposed County Board agenda is attached to these minutes for reference.


Moved by Ms. Turner, seconded by Ms. Fullerton, and it was carried unanimously to approve the attached agenda for the March 20, 2013 County Board meeting.


Mr. Gary Hanson, County Administrator, then gave his report to the committee. Some of the items that he reported on include the annual audit, proposed State legislation that may affect the County budget, the expiration on March 25, 2013 of the bonding authority for the Jail Expansion, the sequestering of Federal Funds which will cost the County $20,000 in lost interest rebates on the Courthouse bonds, and an update on the progress with the grant for the Evergreen Village mitigation project.


It was moved by Ms. Fullerton, seconded by Ms. DeFauw, and it was carried unanimously to adjourn the meeting.


Respectfully submitted,



Chairman Jeffery L. Metzger



Gary H. Hanson, Secretary

JLM: mcs