This site only

County's Homepage

Meetings/Agendas/Minutes Video / Audio

Standing Committees

Ad-Hoc Committees

Contacts / Directions

Ordinances / Resolutions & Proclamations








Minutes of the Union /Virgil Ditches & East Branch of the Kishwaukee Watershed Steering Committee
May 8, 2013
3 p.m.





The Union /Virgil Ditches & East Branch of the Kishwaukee River Watershed Steering Committee (WSC) met on May 8, 2013 at 3:00 p.m. in the DeKalb County Administration Building, in Sycamore, Illinois. In attendance were Committee members Paul Miller, Anita Zurbrugg, Dean Johnson, Jodie Wollnik (for Committee Member Karen Miller), Roger Steimel, Jeremy Lin, and Brian Gregory. Also in attendance were Rebecca Von Drasek and Deanna Doohaluk.

1. Roll Call -- Nathan Schwartz and Donna Prain were noted absent.


2. Approval of Agenda -- Mr. Miller requested that the logo discussion be switched with the Water Resources Inventory on the agenda as staff attempted to contact Deanne Doohaluk for the conference call.


Mr. Miller moved to approve the amended agenda, seconded by Mr. Lin, and the motion carried unanimously.


3. Approval of Minutes -- Ms. Zurbrugg moved to approve the minutes from April 10, 2013, seconded by Mr. Steimel, and the motion carried unanimously.

4. Logo Discussion

Ms. Zurbrugg provided the Committee with sample final logo. The Committee responded with feedback for Ms. Zurbrugg to make final revisions. She agreed to make the changes and present the Committee with the final logo for approval.


Ms. Zurbrugg indicated that she would forward an electronic version to staff for inclusion on the web page and for distribution to the Committee.


Ms. Wollnik arrived at 3:10 pm.


5. April 10 Workshop Preparation

The Committee noted the Kane County drainage districts participation at the workshop. The Committee also observed that the discussion had included the regulation of dredging ditches.


Ms. Wollnik elaborated on the Kane County drainage districts difficulties due to the long time frame of inactivity.


Mr. Miller highlighted the summary sheets from Deanne Doohaluk.


Mr. Steimel confirmed that certain comments at the workshop were associated with an individual person.


The Committee spoke briefly about the Evergreen mitigation project.


The Committee contacted Deanna Doohaluk by phone at 3:20 pm.


The Committee agreed to send any additional information that should have been included within
workshop notes to Deanna.

6. Watershed Plan Status

Mr. Johnson confirmed that Ms. Doohaluk was continuing to create the specific goals for the watershed plan.


Staff asked if the goals would be part of the Watershed Resources Inventory. Ms. Doohaluk explained that the goals would be very specific and the process would continue to be refined and would be include with the Watershed Plan.


Ms. Doohaluk suggested that the Watershed Resources Inventory was close to being in a draft form for presentation to the Committee and IEPA.


Mr. Lin confirmed that the modeling will start after a presentation to the Committee at the July meeting to determine the best option for modeling.


7. Next Meeting

The Outreach Committee will meet in June to finalize the planning for the late summer outreach workshops. Ms. Zurbrugg invited other Steering Committee members to be part of the Outreach subcommittee.


Ms. Wollnik reported contacting a few farmers and others in the watershed for the bus tour. She agreed to drive the watershed and look for addition points of interest. She noted that the Village of Virgil was upgrading their septic systems which might also be an opportunity.


Mr. Gregory offered to host the tour group at the Sycamore treatment plant.


The Steering Committee will next meet on July 10, 2013 at 3:00 pm in the Conference Room East.
Please note the meeting start time of 3:00 pm.


8. Adjournment -- Mr. Miller motioned to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Gregory, and the motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Dean Johnson
Chairman, DeKalb County Union Ditch/Virgil Ditch Watershed Steering Committee