This site only

County's Homepage

Treasurer's Homepage

Property Tax Data

View Property Tax Information

Forms & Applications

Frequently Asked Questions

Tax Collection Email Reminder

Mobile Home Information

News Releases

Pay My Property Taxes

Property Tax Distribution  Reports

Property Tax Levies & Rates

Treasurer's Office - News Release
3rd distribution of real estate taxes

Christine J. Johnson
Administration Building
110 East Sycamore Street
Sycamore, IL 60178


July 28, 2017


DeKalb County Treasurer Christine J. Johnson's office made the third distribution of DeKalb County real estate taxes on Friday, July 21, 2017.


Of the $210,960,556.94 to be collected, $114,181,859.23 has been collected and distributed to date. Johnson said, "This amount represents 54.1 percent of the taxes to be collected, which at this point in the year, is a good collection rate." The Treasurer's office will be making one more tax distribution to the taxing districts prior to the second installment due date for taxes.


Of that $114,181,859.23 that has been distributed, $12,356,873.33 has been distributed to DeKalb County and Forest Preserve District, $4,758,839.82 has been distributed to townships and township road and bridge districts, $2,663,322.75 has been distributed to libraries, $7,914,899.74 has been distributed to cities and villages. Fire districts have received $2,423,488.71 and $4,308,510.28 has been distributed to park districts. School districts have received $68,070,353.46; community colleges have received $6,579,205.49, TIF districts have received $4,981,313.63; and drainage districts have received $125,052.02.


Taxpayers are reminded that the second installment is due on or before September 1, 2017.


The DeKalb County Treasurer's Office offers the option of paying your tax bill by credit card, debit card, or e-check. "We are very pleased to be able to offer our taxpayers the convenience of paying their real estate taxes online. The Treasurer's office accepts Visa, Master Card, American Express, and Discover Card credit cards online and in the office as a means of payment for property taxes. We also accept Visa and Master Card debit cards as well," Johnson said.

Taxpayers may also pay their taxes online with an e-check, a direct debit from their bank account. The online payment service provider charges a $1.00 convenience fee for e-check payments.

Online payments may be made by visiting DeKalb County's website at From the homepage, click on the "Pay My Property Tax" link in red text, then click on the word "Forte" to enter the payment portal


Taxpayers may also pay their taxes at most banks in DeKalb County during the bank's normal business hours, on or before the second installment due date. Taxpayers should bring the entire tax bill to the bank and put their parcel number on their check. Banks cannot accept payments after the due date.


Those taxpayers who intend to pay at the Collector's Office should be aware that parking is extremely limited due to the jail expansion project. In order to avoid the congestion, taxpayers are encouraged to make their payments online, to pay at a local bank on or before the due date, or to mail their payments so that they are postmarked on or before the second installment due date of September 1, 2017.


If you have questions regarding your tax payment, please call the DeKalb County Treasurer's office at 815-895-7112, or visit us online at