Illinois law requires sole proprietorships and general partnerships to register assumed names with the County Clerk in the County where the business is conducted or transacted. Corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships and limited liability partnerships must register with the Secretary of State. (Please also see 805 ILCS 405 – Assumed Business Name Act) Professional service corporations with a true corporate name that does not include the name of one or more of the shareholders, or if the true corporate name continues to use the name of a deceased shareholder, the corporation must register the assumed name with the County Clerk of the county where the principal place of business is located. (Please also see 805 ILCS 10 – PSC Act)
Requirements for New Registration / Certificate
- Complete an Assumed Name Registration form and have it notarized or sign it in front of a Deputy Clerk in the County Clerk’s office. (If the business is located outside the limits of any incorporated city, town or village, please verify requirements with the DeKalb County Community Development office.)
- Submit the form, along with a $5.00 filing fee to the County Clerk’s office.
- Take the Assumed Name Publication Notice prepared by the County Clerk’s office to a newspaper of general circulation that’s published within DeKalb County. The Notice must be published once a week for 3 consecutive weeks. The first publication must be within 15 days of the Assumed Name Registration filing date and proof of publication must be filed with the County Clerk within 50 days from the date of filing.
- Upon receiving proof of publication, the County Clerk will issue a Certificate of Business Ownership and the Assumed Name Registration form, indicating all filing requirements have been met. The documents will be mailed to the business address indicated on the Assumed Name Registration form.
Requirements for Confidential Address Request
Requirements for Addition / Withdrawal of Owner or Dissolution of Registration / Business
- Complete a Supplementary Registration form and have it notarized or sign it in front of a Deputy Clerk in the County Clerk’s office. If the business registration is being terminated, check the “dissolution of registration” box in the “Withdrawal” section of the form.
- Submit the form, along with a $1.50 filing fee to the County Clerk’s office.
- If withdrawal will result in a change or transfer of 25% or more of the total ownership of the business, a notice of filling must be published. If applicable, take the Assumed Name Publication Notice prepared by the County Clerk’s office to a newspaper of general circulation that’s published within DeKalb County. The Notice must be published once a week for 3 consecutive weeks.
Requirements for Change of Address or Change of Owner Name
- Complete a Change of Address / Owner Name form for a change of business address, change of owner residence address or owner name change (i.e. owner changes his/her name) .
- Submit the form, along with a $1.50 filing fee to the County Clerk’s office. (Publication is not required.)
- The County Clerk will issue a new Certificate of Business Ownership (if applicable) reflecting the new business address.
Additional Contact Information
- Secretary of State’s Office – The Official Website for the Illinois Secretary of State (ilsos.gov)
- Springfield Business Information Line 217-782-6961
- Polish Business Information Line 312-793-4938
- Spanish Business Information Line 312-793-2365
- DeKalb County Business Incubator